Domestic Football Team Wins NAHCO Chairman’s Cup

Domestic Football Team Wins NAHCO Chairman’s Cup

Domestic football team comprising GAT and MMA2 stations on Friday became the second team to lift the coveted NAHCO Chairman’s cup when it defeated hard – fighting Main Ramp team.

Arguably the best two teams to feature in the competition this year, the two teams had won their respective groups apart from winning the semi-finals and were ready for the grand prize. On the way to the final, Domestic FC lost 0 -1 to United, defeated Import 2 – 1 and saw off HQ/Pax 3 – 0. The team also defeated Cargo Ramp 6 – 0 during the semi-final.

Main Ramp on the other hand defeated Security 4 – 1, Cargo Ramp 3 – 2, Export/Courier 3 – 2 and dispatched United team 4 -3 during the semi-final.

In a final watched by the Chairman of the Company, Dr. Seinde Oladapo Fadeni, who kicked off the ball at the Nigeria Air Force playing pitch, Ikeja, the two teams battled for glory with the pendulum eventually swinging in favour of Domestic.

Domestic got its first goal through team captain, Sunday Ogundare. That set the team on the way to a famous win. The second goal would follow a while later following a dribble run by playmaker, jersey no 8, Afeez Bamitefa who floated a tricky one into the nine – yard box of Main Ramp. The ball was kicked into the net for an own goal by an on rushing defender.

The third goal was a penalty converted by the highest goal scorer of the competition, Victor Azum.

Speaking shortly before handing over awards to winners, the Chairman commended the teams for the good soccer display stating that he envisages NAHCO FC playing in the Nigerian professional league in the future.

Dr. Fadeni commended the team that lost for putting their best and the winning team for playing extremely well.

Group CEO, Mr. Indranil Gupta, said since all the participating belonged to NAHCO, it is NAHCO as a company that has won. He urged that the bonds that hold the company should continue.

The Chairman later gave out awards to the match officials; the bronze medalists, Cargo Ramp FC; the silver medalists, Main Ramp FC; and the Champions, Domestic FC.

Players who won individual awards include Emmanuel Nkwocha (Main Ramp FC), the Most Valuable Player(MVP) award; Victor Azum (Domestic FC), Golden Boot (Highest goal scorer); and Ahmed Ibrahim (Domestic FC), the Golden Glove.

NAHCO Chairman’s cup is an annual inter-departmental football competition for all stations and departments in Lagos.

Spread the love
Avatar photo

Albinus Chiedu

Albinus Chiedu is a journalist, aviation media consultant, events management professional, and author. He has practiced journalism since 2000.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *